Procedures for Responding to Reports of Missing Persons
- Compliance Requirements from the HEOA, 2008
- Protocol for Reporting a Missing Member of the Housing Community
- University Housing Handbook and Contact Procedures
- The University Police Department at CSUDH
In compliance with the requirements outlined in the Higher Education Opportunity Act (HEOA) of 2008, California State University, Dominguez Hills, University Housing has adopted the following policies and procedures for all student residents who reside in on-campus housing. The proceeding is a step by step protocol for reporting a roommate or other student resident(s) who is thought to be a missing person. Any student resident who has reason to believe that another member of the housing community might be missing or has been missing for 24 hours or more, should immediately notify the Administration of University Housing. In turn, the Housing Administration will notify University Police and all other University personnel deemed necessary. Immediately following the initial report, an investigation by University Housing and University Police will be conducted.
Any resident of the Housing Community at CSUDH who has reason to believe that a student who resides in on-campus housing might be missing, or has been missing for a period of 24 hours or more, should immediately notify the Administrative Housing Office, also known as Building "A." The main contact number for Building "A" is (310) 243-2228. The student or member of the housing community who is filing the report of a missing person should ask to speak to the Associate Director or his/her designee (the "Administrator"). In the event that the Associate Director or his/her designee is unavailable, the member of the housing staff in Building "A" who takes the initial report is required to immediately contact the Associate Director via his/her cell phone.
The Administrator for University Housing or his/her designee will be responsible for contacting University Police. University Police will be provided with all necessary student file contact information that would aid in the investigation. After the Administrator for University Housing has contacted University Police at (310) 243-3639, University Police will conduct and initiate an investigation in accordance with the University Police Department's missing person policy and will undertake the emergency contact procedures as appropriate.
Missing student reports should be made directly to the Administrative Office of University Housing (also known as Building "A") during regular business hours. University Housing is open daily from 8am to 10pm Monday through Friday; Saturday from noon to 10pm; and Sunday from 5pm to 8pm. Should the University Housing Office be closed, the reporting party should contact the University Police Department directly. The University Police Department at California State University, Dominguez Hills, is open 24 hours a day and seven days per week.
Additionally, if the missing person report is made to the staff or an organization's member (other than the CSUDH Housing Office or University Police, that entity is required to contact the University Police Department immediately. If the missing person is believed to live in University Housing, then the reporting party must contact both University Housing at (310) 243-2228 and University Police at (310) 243-3639.
At the beginning of each academic year, all student residents residing in on-campus housing are provided with the University Housing Handbook (also known as "Addendum A") and a Fact Sheet which clearly outlines the protocol that will be followed should a person be reported as missing. University Housing, in consort with the University Police, will notify a parent, guardian or an individual selected by the student not later than 24 hours after the time the student is reported to be missing. This information will remain confidential and will only to be used during a missing person investigation by campus officials and law enforcement, which includes the following:
- Students have the option of identifying an individual to be contacted by CSUDH in the case of an emergency.
- If the student is under 18 years of age, and not an emancipated individual, CSUDH is required to notify a custodial parent or guardian not later than 24 hours after the time that the student is reported to be missing in addition to any additional contact person designated by the student.
- When the University Police Department at CSUDH makes a determination that a student who is the subject of a missing person report has been missing for more than 24 hours and has not returned to campus, a member of the Police Department will initiate the emergency contact procedures in accordance with the student's designation and will also notify local law enforcement.
The University Police Department has a law enforcement missing person's policy that is followed in all such cases. The department may release a photo of the missing student as a tool to assist in locating the individual and may seek information and/or assistance from a variety of campus resources during the course of the investigation.
Enacted Fall 2010